After Turkish government has declared early elections for June 24, the country has experienced one of the most strained election campaign periods for over a month. The results of the election has changed the regime of the country from parliamentary to executive presidential which has continued governing AKP's rule through an alliance, although the governing party has lost several points compared to previous elections in November 2015.
There have participated a total of 9 parties have taken part in the elections officially; with multiple parties declaring alliances with other parties. On the ballot, there were marked two official alliances, one being led by the governing Justice & Development Party AKP and Nationalist Movement Party MHP that also unofficially included Greater Unity Party BBP. Another grouping has been among the opposition under the title of National Alliance that was led by main opposition social-democratic Republican People's Party CHP and newly founded centre-right party IYI Party as well as conservative-democrat Saadet Party which also unofficially welcomed minor centre-right Democrat Party. Even though socialist Peoples' Democratic Party HDP had not registered any alliances, the party had nominated nominees from various other leftist parties including the Turkish Workers' Party TIP. After the election results had been announced in early July, several members of parliament who had been elected from among other parties ranks have announced their resignations and re-registered with their home-parties, making the current number of parties in the parliament 9. Presidential Alliance Justice & Development Party AKP: 290 Nationalist Movement Party MHP: 50 Greater Unity Party BBP: 1 National Alliance Republican People's Party: 144 IYI Party: 40 Saadet Party: 2 Democrat Party: 1 Non-Allied Peoples' Democratic Party HDP: 65 Turkish Workers Party TIP: 2 Independent: 1 [infogram id="elections-2018-june-24-1h9j6qwqrrv56gz" prefix="AQL"]